It appears that I have developed a few followers!  Thank you for taking an interest in this site.  I will try to make monthly posts from now on.  I welcome comments, so if you read something and have a thought, feel free to share!  I will take this time to provide an update of what is taking place at Integrated Therapy Services in Newton...


Direct Services and Referrals:  I have suddenly developed quite a caseload thanks to referrals from area healthcare organizations and the article that was in the Jasper County News Eagle.  I appreciate the growing awareness in the community as it aides to connect families in need to area resources.  If anyone calls me looking for services that I am not able to provide, I can at least refer them to someone who can help.   In cases that I am able to serve directly, I am arranging evaluations and therapy appointments on a monthly basis.  Currently, my openings are limited, so I may need to begin a waiting list at some point.  If you or anyone you know is in need of support, please contact me as soon as possible to ensure an appointment.  


Support Group:  I am starting a support group for caregivers (e.g., parents, grandparents etc) who are responsible for the welfare of children with special needs.  I will be holding these meetings at my office (102 N Jackson, Newton) on Sundays 2-3.  I do need to know who is planning to attend the meetings in order to prepare.  So, please contact me at [email protected] to register for the support group.


Workshops:  I am arranging a series of workshops on Sundays 3-5 to go over special topics related to child development.  Video clips and case examples will be used to facilitate discussion around certain issues that tend to come up in development.  I will have a schedule up soon to outline the series.  Anyone interested in attending the discussions will need to register for this as well.


Mentorship and Networking:  I have been in contact with several area professionals in order to establish a network of clinicians that can be available to serve families in Jasper County and surrounding areas.  Some clinicians may rent space at Integrated Therapy Services as independent professionals and will take cases privately.  Some clinicians are beginning to receive mentorship regarding child development in order to expand their skills and specialize.  If any providers are interested in these opportunities, please contact me. 


Things are going well so far, and I'm trying to keep a steady pace, not trying to grow too quickly in order to maintain quality of services.  I will post more soon.


Thanks!
Sarah



Leave a Reply.